RaDAR – Is it a team sport

I know how challenging RaDAR can really be. It was designed to take you out of the comfort zone. With every challenge we all learn new things and that is good. The results of the April challenge have made me think a little differently on how we take on the challenge.

Certainly Sid ZS5AYC and his team showed that a team effort can reap benefits and I’m anxious to see how they will handle the on foot category in June. Sid and Adele are SOTA activators too so they know how difficult it is to get to a SOTA destination. Moving after every 5 QSO’s on foot will be a new challenge for them and I have no doubt that they will do well.

I’ve always taken on the RaDAR challenge alone but as we know if you want to include satellite comms and digital modes the load get heavier. Having a team, even a team of novices or interested people could make this load lighter. It will be an exciting opportunity for newcomers to amateur radio that they feel they too have a purpose.

I’m not sure how Sid arranges his operations but I can guess if one operates the radio, another does the logging and maybe a third and fourth person do the antenna deployments and adjustments.

This has got me thinking in a new direction. I’ve always promoted the idea that RaDAR is an ideal training / testing tool for new hams maybe it is time that it be recognised as such.

My next challenge will be a team effort too, on foot of course!!!

73 de Eddie ZS6BNE

3 thoughts on “RaDAR – Is it a team sport

  1. Hi Eddie
    The team aspect is certainly an interesting new perspective. Still there are some of us around who are doing radar ops alone, and sometimes in much harsher environments. I never submit the logs because I don’t care about the points or the new Awards system, however. If this is going to be a team effort, perhaps a team category could be considered, to insure things remain balanced and fair.
    Individual radar operators in the field, regardless of their operating environment are always at a disadvantage compared to teams. If we’re considering points and awards, then let’s do it we in a way which keeps the distribution of points and awards fair.

    What’s behind my opinion is the broad range of ease/difficulty, from operator to operator, during a radar challenge. A team effort for someone who’s already operating from an “ultra easy level” challenge can be seen as blatantly unfair, to the operator who struggles alone to operate his radio, logs, … in temperatures colder than most operators freezers.
    From where I’m standing the “Challenge” part of RaDAR isn’t distributed equally across operators. Teams may make it even more simple for an event which by its very nature, should actually be a challenging.
    Food for thought.

    • Many thanks for your comments Julian. Certainly food for thought. I wanted to write an article for our ZS magazine and was looking for a starting point. Then I just approved your comment on my Blog which is the ideal trigger for my article. Kind regards, Eddie ZS6BNE

      • I just hope my feedback is not too “emotional”. I’m just working on the video version of the RaDAR Challenge After Action Report. I thought to link the original post to your article. http://oh8stn.org/blog/2017/04/02/radar-challenge-after-action-report-april-2017/
        I’m also rethinking my RaDAR field ops Eddie. The 4hr time limit makes it difficult to operate comfortably, setting up shelter and heat, only to tear it all down, move and start again. You’ll understand after the video. It’s a tough one.
        73 de your buddy in the north.

Leave a Reply

