RaDAR – Digital radio Android and the Signalink USB

Screenshot_2016-05-06-06-56-01

I only recently discovered Androids USB OTG through Julian OH8STN although the technology is a decade and a half old!

Last night I tried a USB wireless mouse adapter and in no time at all I could navigate my Sony Xperia C4 Android smartphone using the wireless mouse!

This morning I sat looking at my earphone / mic that was part of my old Samsung Galaxy Note smartphone and pondered on where to cut the lead to make a digital modes interface between my FT-817ND and a smartphone using the four pole earphone jack – luckily I put it back where I normally store it. I had a cable once, I put it in a very safe place, so safe I can’t remember where?

I’ve tested before but wanted to try again, the clock was ticking but I went outside and connected my 847’s Signalink USB to the smartphone. Using AndFLmsg and pressing “Tune” the Signalink’s PTT reacted!!!! Nothing on the receive waterfall though ….

Then I routed the cables through a powered USB hub (Otherwise the smartphone needs to power the Signalink!) and used DroidPSK to test. I switched on the 847 and DroidPSK’s waterfall came alive, on TX it transmitted too!!!!

No need to build a digimodes interface for Android, my Signalink USB infrastructure can now be used with Windows, Linux or Android!!!

I was late for work but it was worth it!

One thought on “RaDAR – Digital radio Android and the Signalink USB

Leave a Reply

